North Missouri Solid Waste Management District – Region B

November 6th, 2023

NM Solid Waste Management District – Region B was formed in 1992 in conjunction with Senate Bill 530, which created 20 Solid Waste Districts in Missouri. Region B is the largest District consisting of 11 counties in north central Missouri including Caldwell, Carroll, Chariton, Daviess, Grundy, Harrison, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, and Sullivan. There are 75 communities in our 11-county district.


The purpose of the District Grant program is to provide financial assistance to cities, counties, non-profits and other organizations that will develop new or improved programs that will reduce the generation of solid waste or will create new markets or improve markets for recovered material or will improve the handling of items banned from landfills by Missouri law. It is the intent that these funds are awarded to sub-grantees for projects that will be sustainable and will lead to long term diversion. The purpose of the solid waste management districts is to fund projects with maximum impact on waste minimization and to create and sustain jobs directly related to the project. 

Applications are available on this site by pressing the application link. If you need assistance, Ann Hamilton, NMSWMD Program Manager and District Planner for Region B, works with sub-grantees on their application, tasks, timelines, and goals. If you need assistance on grant applications, please contact her at [email protected] or 660-359-5636 ext. 20

District Grant Application

New Grants Approved

Hope Haven Industries, Inc. a sheltered workshop in Chillicothe received grant funding for $20,000.00 to purchase a newer pickup, which will be used to collect and transport recyclables in our district.

Regional Pod Grants for Special and Banned Item Collections

District B uses grant funds from the Missouri Department of Natural Resources each year to collect banned/special items in our region. For over 20 years, the North Missouri Solid Waste Management District-B, has been an important part of collecting and recyling household hazardous waste, and banned items. Grant funds pay for the disposal cost, while Plan Implementation funds pay for staff time. The efforts of the District have prevented these items from being placed in landfills or illegally disposed of throughout rural areas, where a lot of the banned items would be illegally dumped in ditches, creeks, or on their property, which is not very beneficial for our environment. The District collects most types of electronic equipment including: computers, monitors, television sets, printers, and copiers; appliances including: refrgerators, freezers, washers, dryers, hot water heaters, and air conditioners; scap metal including lawn mowers, swing sets , and bicycles; househod cleaners, furniture polish, floor wax, antifreeze, brake fluid, pesticides, fertilizers, herbicides, paint thinner, paint strippers, stains, varnish, ext.; and household, rechargeable, truck, tractor, and car batteries. The district charges patrons fees associated with the collections. 

The district holds banned and special collections throughout the region and is in the process of having semi-permanent containers to collect tires, electronic, scrap metal, appliances, rechargeable batteries, lead acid batteries, household batteries, and household hazardous waste. Grants have been awarded to have locations in the Town of Carrollton and Harrision County, with future sites in Sullivan, Caldwell, Daviess, and Linn Counties. 


Resolution 2024-1

Supporting a Product Stewardship for Paint